FILE A DECLARATION OF INTENT
In Washington, families must file a Declaration of Intent on your child’s eighth birthday, or the date you withdraw them from public school. From there on out, each year your family will file a declaration of intent before September 15th.
Letter of Intent Links
11 WASHINGTON STATE HOMESCHOOL REQUIRED SUBJECTS
In Washington state, the required subjects are:
*As tax payers in a community, homeschooled children are able to receive support services and choose educational programs offered through their local school districts. This includes but is not limited to sports, music, clubs, Running Start, etc..
RECORD KEEPING/DAY REQUIREMENTS
Homeschooled children are required to be in school for 180 days a year, or an average of 1,000 hours.
Keeping records is required by law, even though they don't have to be submitted annually. At EJ Education, we track days and grades for all our families.
In Washington state, families are required to have their child annually assessed (after age 8). The SAT 10 is an assessment that we utilize in the Spring for grades 3 and up. This assessment offers a wealth of information about a child's progress. More information about the SAT-1o: https://www.setontesting.com/product/stanford-10-online/
MORE INFORMATION ABOUT HOMESCHOOLING IN WASHINGTON STATE